Printing and coloring my ebooks

Printing and coloring my ebooks.

Printing and coloring my ebooks

Coloring pictures from my ebooks for children

If you downloaded the PDF version of my color picture books for children, “Doug’s Big Idea,  “Bubble Trouble” or one of my other ebooks for children, then you can easily print out the large black and white pictures in the Appendix for a child to colour.

But what if you didn’t download the PDF version of one of my ebooks?

Children’s colour picture ebooks such as “Doug’s Big Idea” or “Bubble Trouble” are easily printed out from your desktop or laptop using the free ebook converter called Calibre to convert your ebook into another format, PDF for example.

I’ve written a post on converting ebooks with Calibre here. I’ve also written a brief article on downloading an ebook to your computer and converting it to PDF or other suitable format for printing.

You can print out just a page or two, the ones your son or daughter really likes, and they can draw on it if they want without ruining the original picture. Or print out the complete book.

If printing out the whole book you can save more money by printing the color pictures in greyscale so your son or daughter can color the pictures any way her or she wants.

When a child is finished coloring the picture, or adding characters or whatever their imagination leads them to draw, the page can be turned over and used as well before being recycled.

Printing out an ebook such the ones mentioned  is much less expensive than purchasing a printed version of the same book, even taking into consideration the price of the ebook and paper and ink cost to print it out several times.

Plus you can print out as many pages as often as you wish, just like using a scanner and copying pages from a printed book. Only cheaper.

The best print output I’ve managed to achieve when printing my ebooks containing large black and white pictures is when the original ebook is in PDF format.

I’ve published all my ebooks in PDF format and made them available from my web site ‘Ebooks by Ted Summerfield‘. These PDF’s are already formatted for printing out, while converting an ebook to PDF would likely involve a lot of formatting to get the results you want.

Here are two examples of the black and white pictures included in the appendix in my ebooks for children. Pictures have been shrunk for display in this post.

Doug the beaver, from “Doug’s Big Idea” ebook

Glorybee Toebiter, from “Bubble Trouble” picture ebook

These pictures will fill 1/2 page to 3/4 of a page when printed. Set your printer description to “grayscale” and use “draft” mode to save ink. Select “black cartridge” or “black ink” as the colour.

