What the heck is an ebook?

What the heck is an ebook? An ebook is an electronic version of a book; a printed book in digital form or a book originating in digital form. This post is also a page in the navigation menu at top of blog.

1) Can I print out your ebooks? Yes. My ebooks contain no restrictions against printing. PDF versions of my ebooks are best for printing, especially my children’s color picture ebooks which have large black and white pictures at the end of each ebook and are designed for coloring. My 4-letter words and my 5-letter words puzzle ebooks in PDF format are great for printing.

2) Do I need one of those iPads or Kindle or similar device to read an ebook? Yes, and No. Some authors may only publish their work for downloading by Kindle owners or iPad owners. Some authors, such as myself, publish our works in various formats for reading on different electronic devices, your desktop, or your laptop. I’ve written a list of free ebook readers for desktop or laptops which you may find helpful.

3) Can I print out any ebook? No. It depends upon the device you are using to read the ebook, and also upon any digital rights against printing an ebook may contain. Some authors or book retailers may not allow you to print your ebook. Some authors or book retailers may implement a form of Digital Rights Management (DRM) preventing you from copying or printing.

4) Is a PDF file an ebook? Yes, and most popular ebook devices will open PDF files for reading. Here is a link to the various types of ebook formats.

5) Can I read a free sample of an ebook? Yes. Most ebook retailers and authors, such as myself, allow readers a free sample of an ebook.

6) Where can I read a free sample or purchase one of your ebooks? Visit your favorite online bookstore or Smashwords.

