Yelp yelps about Place des Arts and South Burnaby Veterinary Hospital comments

Yelp seems to be getting closer to its IPO as I’ve been told that two of my posts on their system have been removed. One for privacy reasons and one for having secondhand content.

First, the privacy reason. This is the post that Yelp objected to: “South Burnaby Veterinary Hospital killed my dog without any written authorization, just the verbal request from my now ex-wife Liz Summerfield. While this may be legal, I would think that any vet would at least require some proof that an animal had bitten a postal worker and request written authorization from the post office before killing an animal. Not this vet hospital. ”

Letter my lawyer prepared and sent to BCSPCA about this event can be read here.

I’ve changed the wording on Yelp to this: “South Burnaby Veterinary Hospital killed my dog based upon a lie by my now ex-wife. She told the veterinary clinic she’d been ordered by the post office to have my dog put down because it had bitten a postal worker. The post office and the postal worker both denied ordering or requesting my dog be killed.

South Burnaby never bothered to verify my ex-wife’s claim, nor did the hospital phone me to verify the claim.”

That should satisfy the privacy request as I never used her name in that post.

Now the secondhand content ruling. Here is the objectionable content posted on Yelp regarding Place des Arts in Coquitlam: “Parents should check the Internet for any information on instructors at PDA in Coquitlam. One instructor is a known dog killer and thief. See this link: https://punzhupuzzles.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/dog-killer-teaching-children-at-place-des-arts-halloween-event/

I wrote to Yelp explaining that neither my lawyer nor myself could bring back my dead dog to testify firsthand about my ex-wife killing him. However, there are court records that show Liz repeatedly refused to comply with court orders requesting her to deliver bank statements explaining the large amount of funds she had removed.

Everything I’ve written about my ex-wife Liz Summerfield refusing to comply with court orders regarding missing funds is available to the public through the courts. The letter prepared by my lawyer regarding Liz killing my dog is also publicly available.

I changed my review of Place des Arts to this: Parents considering enrolling their children in classes at Place des Arts or anywhere children are being taught should google the instructors name as a basic precaution. One instructor at Place des Arts is a known dog killer and a thief.

Now this part becomes a bit tricky. Yelp wants me to somehow revive my dead dog so that he can personally provide firsthand attestation to the statement I made about Liz Summerfield having ordered him killed. I know that isn’t going to happen.

As for the part about Liz being a thief, well, I can provide firsthand knowledge of that.

UPDATE from Yelp: As to your review of Place Des Arts we wanted to let you know that we’ve removed it. Our Support team has determined that it falls outside our Content Guidelines (http://www.yelp.ca/guidelines) because it lacks a firsthand experience.

We hope you will continue to participate on Yelp, while keeping in mind our Content Guidelines.

This is the content Yelp removed:
Parents considering enrolling their children in classes at Place des Arts or anywhere children are being taught should google the instructors name as a basic precaution. One instructor at Place des Arts is a known dog killer and a thief.

First the content on Yelp about Place des Arts was removed because it was secondhand. Then the revised post was removed because it lacked firsthand experience.

I replied to Yelp regarding their removal of my second post about Place des Arts: “Please provide your legal definition of “firsthand experience” as it may be different than the legal definition of “firsthand” meaning, among other things, factual, valid, and the legal understanding of “experience” meaning, among other things, know-how, knowledge, familiarity.

As I have valid and factual knowledge and familiarity of what I wrote, please provide a more legal explanation as to why the post was removed.”

