BCSPCA warned of dog killer.

Updated April 4, 2012.

If you love animals or care about cruelty to animals then please consider joining supporting your local SPCA or other animal rights organization.

My heart almost stopped when my son told me that his mother, Liz Summerfield, had taken my dog Punzhu to the South Burnaby Veterinary Hospital to be killed. Liz had told the veterinary clinic that Punzhu had bitten a postman and she’d been ordered to have Punzhu put down. This turned out to be a lie.

I checked with the post office and found out that Punzhu was with Liz outside her mother’s house when the postman approached. According to the postman and the post office, the postman did not file a complaint nor did the post office order Liz to destroy Punzhu.

I was very upset that the South Burnaby Veterinary Hospital killed my dog without any written documentation from the Post Office. They killed my dog on the verbal advice of my now former wife, who simply lied to them.

Below is part of a letter, which was mailed to SPCA branches in the lower mainland, prepared by my lawyer after checking the facts.

***

Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals

1205 East 7th Vancouver, BC

V5T 1R1

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

About four years ago I adopted a dog from the Animal Control Pound in New Westminster.

In October of 1995, my ex-wife, Elizabeth Summerfield, separated from me and left the family home, taking my dog with her. I asked my ex-wife where the dog was but she refused to tell me. I learned at the end of November, 1995, that she had had the dog euthanized at South Burnaby Veterinary Hospital on November 16, 1995.

I hope that you will not consider Elizabeth Summerfield (who may revert to her maiden name of Elizabeth Gray) as a potential adopter of animals from the SPCA in future.

Yours truly,

Ted Summerfield

***

Years ago I started making puzzles and called them Punzhu Puzzles after my dog, who died so very young and so needlessly. It is my hope the SPCA will remember the letter I mailed and not consider Liz Summerfield, aka Elizabeth Summerfield or Elizabeth Gray, as a potential adopter of animals in the future.

It was during our divorce Liz lied to the South Burnaby Veterinary Clinic in order to have my dog killed. Liz had my dog killed during the time she had refused several court orders to provide information on what she had done with the large sum of money she had removed from our joint bank accounts.

Fearing for the safety of my son, and what she might do to the other dogs and cats she had taken from our home, I immediately settled the divorce.

Liz works with children as an arts instructor at various lower mainland cities & towns, including Whister, Burnaby, Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Richmond, Port Moody, Maple Ridge, Vancouver, Surrey, Langley, and other areas.

Liz teaches puppetry, lantern making, papier mache, masks, as well as instructing children in a variety of other arts related studies at festivals, public events, and community centers.

Parents should be aware of who is instructing their precious children.

There are other articles on Liz and our divorce on this site. Use the search box and search on divorce, or Liz.

3 thoughts on “BCSPCA warned of dog killer.

  1. Pingback: Sympathy card from PETA « Punzhu Puzzles

  2. Below is a comment from someone calling themself “Francis”, who sent this comment from the lower mainland area of BC, supporting Liz Summerfield killing an animal based upon a lie by Liz Summerfield:

    “Liz Summerfield was a very responsible person for taking care of her dog’s actions. How can you say this is any kind of cruelty for being a responsible owner?
    Thanks, Liz Summerfield for being a responsible pet owner!

    Francis.”

    My reply to Francis, if that is the real name of the writer, is that Liz Summerfield lied about the post office ordering her to have my dog killed – facts verified by my lawyer – and that because of Liz Summerfield lying an innocent animal was needlessly killed.

    As you feel lying and killing an innocent animal is responsible behaviour for a person, “Francis”, then I hope you don’t own any animals and you should seek help from the Canadian Mental Health or make an appointment with a medical professional as soon as possible to discuss your mental health.

  3. Wow, I just read this Yed and I am very sorry for your loss. I too am a dog owner and far to many of our beloved pets are needlessly destroyed because we are too stupid and lazy as human beings to actually learn something from them. We are to quick to abuse them or have them destroyed and it breaks my heart to hear that a human who is supposed to be an intelligent race can do this needless act to innocent animals. Once again I am very sorry for your loss and shame on your ex wife.

    Megan

Comments are closed.