Amazon replies to why they removed my non-interactive ebooks.

Here is a copy of the reply I got from Amazon on October 11th. In the original reply email I sent them I had requested Amazon either remove similar non-interactive ebooks or return my ebooks to sales status so that Amazon could offer a level playing field for all authors. I’m not sure what they mean by their reply:

Hello Ted,

Thank you for your response. Please note that these guidelines are applicable to both new and existing titles in the Kindle Store, which will continue to be enhanced to provide an optimal experience for buying customers.

Best Regards,

XXXX
Amazon.com

Their reply was a lot of words signifying nothing.

If Amazon truly wants to provide “an optimal experience for buying customers” shouldn’t Amazon let buying customers choose whether or not they want to purchase a non-interactive ebook or purchase an interactive app? Restricting buying customers to one choice, interactive ebooks, doesn’t seem to be very optimal for Kindle users.

How are customers satisfied by Amazon removing purchase choices and forcing buying customers to one option instead of two?

I again checked Amazon for similar non-interactive ebooks still being offered for sale and found many puzzle ebooks like mine, which Amazon had removed, but other authors non-interactive puzzle or game works were still being offered for sale on Amazon for Kindle ebooks.

I replied to Amazon and again requested Amazon either remove similar non-interactive ebooks or return my ebooks to sales status so that Amazon offers a level playing field for all authors.

Amazon found my puzzle ebooks and removed them quite easily before notifying me of their removal, but for some reason couldn’t find other non-interactive puzzle ebooks like mine – ones that were offered for sale before I published mine and the same ones are still being offered for sale.

I believe it is reasonable to asked to be treated fairly as an author, and if a company like Amazon is going to enforce a policy then it should enforce it for all authors or not enforce a particular policy at all.

And when Amazon customer service replies to a customer would Amazon do so in plain English so the recipient can understand what exactly Amazon is doing, or not doing, about the issue?

I’m awaiting their reply.

