Police contact BC, Canada, blogger about dog killer articles

Several weeks ago local police contacted me regarding the articles I had written on my blog about my ex-wife who had my dog killed during the time the courts were hounding her for financial records concerning the large amount of money she removed from our joint account just prior to our divorce.

The police contacted me by email containing one sentence; “Could you please contact me, I need to speak with you regarding the postings that you have made that are directed towards Elizabeth SUMMERFIELD.”

I replied immediately asking what I could do for them. But after I sent the reply I thought, “This is likely a legal matter so the police should contact my lawyer.” (It never dawned on me right away that the police contacting me might be of some legal matter, so how bright am I?)

I then sent a second email stating, “Upon further consideration of your email please direct all further communication through my lawyer XXXXX regarding any legal matter and he will advise me.”

The police sent me a couple of more emails during the following days containing the exact same sentence as the first email.

I sent the officer an email stating, “On XXX, 2012, I replied to your email and requested you direct your communication on this matter to my lawyer, XXXXX.

On that same date I contacted XXXX  regarding your email and its contents. Please direct your communications on this matter to XXXX.”

That stopped the emails from the police.

But what I find disconcerting for bloggers, particularly bloggers living in Canada, is that the police wasted time contacting someone who had broken no law, for the police would have surely done more than just want to talk to me if I had broken a law.

The articles I wrote were honest, truthful, and were done with the public’s interest at heart, for I strongly believe that parents should know who is teaching their children at art classes or at a workshop or a festival event.

Liz teaches children classes or workshops about papier mache, lantern making, puppetry, puppet making, and various arts and crafts related instructions in Port Moody, Coquitlam, Vancouver, Surrey, Whistler, New Westminster, and many other areas in the lower mainland of BC.

Some art groups, like Place des Arts in Coquitlam which is holding “Light up the Square: A Lantern Affair” this Christmas season, don’t always list who is instructing children, and so it is up to parents to verify who is teaching their child.

Particularly if the person teaching their child or children had deliberately lied to a vet in order to have an innocent animal killed during a period in the divorce proceedings in which that person had repeatedly refused to comply with multiple court requests to provide financial information on what she had done with all the money she removed from a joint account, just prior to her husband receiving the divorce papers.

Here is a link to the letter my divorce lawyer wrote to the BCSPCA after verifying the facts of the death of my dog.

Here is a link to the articles the police wanted to talk to me about.

Special place in hell for those who harm children and animals

