To protect my privacy I’ve stopped using Google

Google, Bing, Yahoo and most other search engines store, track, and sell your search terms and is why you get ads for cold medication displayed on your search results page when you searched a few months ago using search terms like ‘cold’ or ‘flu’.

Did you know you may have been turned down for insurance because of your searches? Read this article from the Wall Street Journal.

Didn’t know your search terms are tracked and sold? Read this.

I switched to using a relatively new search engine called Duck Duck Go which doesn’t track, store or sell your search profiles. Then I found a better search engine that provides similar service but better. It’s called Startpage. Goofy name. Anonymous searches.

Learn more about Duck Duck Go here.

If you want to protect your privacy you should use Duck Duck Go. I do.

